St. Elizabeth Ann Seton - Wichita, KS

Week of December 10-14

 

Literature

English

Monday, Dec 10

Book Talks!

Advent Reflection: Week 2

Conjunctive Adverbs WS

Tuesday, Dec 11

Book Talks!

Finish Conj Adv WS and write sentences using Conj Adv

Wednesday, Dec 12

Book Talks!

Subordinate Conjunctions WS

Thursday, Dec 13

The Gift of the Magi – Final project

Vocab Review Activity

More Subordinate Conjunctions

Friday, Dec 14

The Gift of the Magi – Final project

Troublesome Conjunctions

Text 174 + WS

Week of December 3-7

 

Literature

English

Mon, Dec 3

This week has been a little crazy due to music rehearsals and music performances.  Here’s what we TRIED to accomplish…at one point or another:

 

Interim testing – this was round 2 of 3 for what I call “practice” tests.  The BIG GAME (aka State Assessments) will be here before we know it!

 

The Gift of the Magi – we finished reading and discussing the details of the story, took a quiz over the content, discussed themes of the story, and learned about the gifts of the REAL magi and why O.Henry might have named this story after them. 

Finish pronoun test / Advent writing activity

Vocab – Sentences

Tues, Dec 4

Finish Advent writing activity

Vocab – Reading Comprehension

Wed, Dec 5

Intro to Conjunctions

Vocab – Write the Derivative

Thurs, Dec 6

Coordinating Conjunctions WS

Vocab – Annuncios!

Fri, Dec 7

 

 

 

DON’T FORGET!

BOOK PROJECTS ARE DUE MONDAY, DECEMBER 10!!!

Correlative Conjunctions WS

Vocab – TEST DAY!

Week of Nov 26-30

 

Literature

English

Monday, Nov 26

CR – Graphic Organizer Un. 3

CR 65 – Written task due Wednesday

New Vocab – Words Associated with Happiness and Unhappiness

 

Text 49, ex. C

Tuesday, Nov 27

 

O. Henry biography + quiz

Vocab – Word maps

 

WB 43 (C) & 44 (D, F)

Wednesday, Nov 28

“The Gift of the Magi” Anticipation Guide

Vocab – Write the Correct Word

 

Old Text 392, #1-20

Thursday, Nov 29

“The Gift of the Magi” read and respond

Vocab – Complete the Sentence

 

Old Text 393, #21-45

Friday, Nov 30

“The Gift of the Magi” finish read and respond

Plot Diagram (if time)

Test: Pronouns

Week of Nov 12-16

 

Literature

English

Monday,

Nov 12

CR: 57-59 1st read + summary chart

HW: pg 57-59 2nd read + definitions

Vocab: Write your own sentences TOPIC – Thanksgiving

WB 41 – Roles of Indefinite Pronouns

Tuesday,

Nov 13

CR: 57-59 3rd read + questions on 60

Vocab: Write the Derivative

WB 42 – Agreement with Indefinite Pronouns

Wednesday,

Nov 14

CR: 61-62 1st read + summary chart

HW: pg 61-62 2nd read + definitions

Vocab: Find the Example

QUIZ: Indefinite Pronouns

Thursday,

Nov 15

CR: 61-62 3rd read + graphic organizer on 63

Vocab: Annuncios

Text 48-49 Relative Pronouns

Friday,

Nov 16

Spirit Dress Day

Free Reading / Book Project Day

Vocab: QUIZ

WB 40 Relative Pronouns

Week of Nov 5-9

 

Literature

English

Monday, Nov 5

Introduce November Virtue: Courtesy – Circle discussion on courtesy in the life of Venerable Pierre Toussaint

Vocab Test

WB pg. 43-44 pts B & E

Tuesday, Nov 6

CR Unit 3

Pg. 50- visual text

Pg. 51-53- 1st read + Pg. 54 summary

New vocab – Words associated with Agreements

Spelling pretest, Intro to word meanings, and “Write the Correct Word” activity

Wednesday, Nov 7

Field Trip Today!

a.m. field trip -- Career Expo in Hutch

p.m. – Lit 3 Free Read Day

a.m. field trip -- Career Expo in Hutch

p.m. – Pronoun Review Activity

Thursday, Nov 8

CR Pg 51-53 2nd read (look up definitions) + Pg 55 questions

Vocab – “Complete the Sentence” activity +

Introduce Indefinite Pronouns

Friday, Nov 9

CR Pg 51-53 3rd read + Pg 56 questions

Vocab – “Reading Comprehension” activity +

WS – Indefinite Pronouns

Week of Oct 29 - Nov 2

 

Literature

English

Monday, Oct 29

“The Monsters are Due on Maple Street” Act 2 and finish plot diagram

Vocab: Reading Comprehension Activity

WB 36, 37, 38, 39 Ex. A ONLY

Tuesday, Oct 30

“The Monsters are Due on Maple Street” – progressive dinner activity

Vocab: Finish the Thought + Write the Derivative

Halloween Debate Prep Sheet

Wednesday, Oct 31

Halloween Parties @ 2:45 pm

Close reading of Creepy Stories

Vocab: Find the Example + Annuncios

Halloween Debates in class

Vocab Test is MONDAY!!

Thursday, Nov 1

No School – Holy Day

No School – Holy Day

Friday, Nov 2

Reading Day

Pronoun Practice

Week of October 22

 

Literature

English

Monday, Oct 22

CR: 43-44  3rd read and questions 1-3 on pg 45

New Vocab Packet!!

  Spelling Pre-test

  Teach new words

  Write the word activity

Tuesday, Oct 23

CR: 46  Fill out graphic organizer and prepare to write

3.4 Pronouns after Than/As

Text pg 38

Wednesday, Oct 24

 

Picture Retakes

CR: 47  Writing Day!!

Vocab: Complete the Sentence activity

Pronouns after Than/As WB 34

Thursday, Oct 25

CR: 48 Rate your Writing and turn in CR workbook

Begin reading “The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street” Act 1

Vocab: Write your own sentences (Topic: The life of your favorite saint)

3.5 Possessive Pronouns vs. Possessive Adjectives

Text pg 40

Friday, Oct 26

Fill in G.O. for Act 1

Read “The monsters Are Due on Maple Street” Act 2

QUIZ!! Pronoun chart in notes

Possessive Pronouns and Adjectives WB 39

Week of Oct 8-12

 

Literature

English

Monday, Oct 8

Book Buzz Presentations

Vocab Test

Text 197 – diagrams

Tuesday, Oct 9

Book Buzz Presentations

Pronouns – Notes + text 33 (ex. 2)

Wednesday, Oct 10

CR: 39-41 Read 1 & 2

Subject Pronouns –

WB 29 (evens)-30 (ex. A only)

Thursday, Oct 11

CR: 39-41 Read 3 + questions on pg 42

Object Pronouns –

WB 31-33 (evens only)

Friday, Oct 12

½ Day Only – Polaris Service Projects

Week of Oct 1-5

 

Literature

English

Monday, Oct 1

CR: pg 32 Visual Text

CR: pg 33-35 begin 1st Read

Vocab: Finish the Thought and Derivatives activities

WS: Appositives

Tuesday, Oct 2

CR: pg 33-35 complete 1st Read and summary on pg 36

Vocab: Annuncios

Color-by-# -- All noun jobs (test review)

Wednesday, Oct 3

**Confessions**

CR: pg 33-35 2nd Read and ?s on pg 37

Test: Nouns and their jobs

Thursday, Oct 4

**Snack Sale**

CR: pg 33-35 3rd Read and ?s on pg 38

Vocab Test

Friday, Oct 5

No School

Week of September 24-28

 

Literature

English

Monday, Sept 24

Complete self-scoring rubric in Close Reading text (pg 30)

Read “Zebra”

(See link under Documents tab for full text)

Notes: Object of Preposition

Vocabulary Packet: Words associated with enthusiasm and indifference

Write the Correct Word Activity

Tuesday, Sept 25

Read “Zebra”

Vocab: Complete the Sentences

Text pg 124-125 – Prepositional Phrases

Wednesday, Sept 26

Class Discussion of “Zebra”

WB p. 6 – Object of Prep.

Vocab: Write your own sentences (Topic: sports & recreation)

Thursday, Sept 27

“Zebra” One-Pager Activity

Notes: Appositives & Appositive Phrases

WB p. 8-9

Friday, Sept 28

Spirit Dress Day!

Free Reading Day!!

(Book Report is due Oct 8…)

Vocab: Reading Comprehension Activity

Color-by-Number: Noun Jobs 1-6

 

Week of September 17-21

 

Literature

English

Mon, Sept 17

CR 21-23 (3rd Read)

Pg 24 – tutorial on answering text-based questions

Vocab: Write the Derivative

WB p. 5 Indirect Objects

Tues, Sept 18

CR 25-26

“Learning Ocean Science Through Ocean Exploration”

1st Read & 2nd Read

Vocab: Announcements & Find the Example

In-class practice: Indirect Objects

Wed, Sept 19

CR 25-26

Finish 2nd Read / Vocab

3rd Read

Pg. 27 Text-Based Questions

Language MAP pt 1

 

Thurs, Sept 20

Picture Day!!!

CR 28 – Analyze and Synthesize Across Texts (Graphic Organizer)

Language MAP pt 2

Fri, Sept 21

CR 29 WRITE!!  Due Monday!

Vocab: Test

Noun Job 5: Object of the Preposition

Week of Sept 10-14

 

Literature

English

Monday, Sept 10

Group Discussions: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Vocab: Behavior Words

Spelling pre-test

“Write the Word” activity

Tuesday, Sept 11

MAP Reading test (pt 2)

Color-by-Number

Review Noun Jobs 1-3

Wednesday, Sept 12

CR: P 21-23

Read 1 – silent/margin notes

Read 2 – aloud/margin notes

Vocab:” Complete the Sentence” activity

Quiz: Noun Jobs 1-3

Thursday, Sept 13

CR: P 21-23

Read 2 – define words/clarify meaning

Read 3 – discuss central ideas

Vocab: Sentence Writing (topic: charitable living)

Noun Job 4: notes on Indirect Objects

Friday, Sept 14

CR: P 24 questions

Vocab: “Reading Comprehension” activity

Noun Job 5: notes on Object of Preposition

Week of Sept 3-7

No School Monday or Tuesday

 

Literature

English

Wednesday, Sept 5

CR: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (3rd read and questions on pg 19)

Notes: Direct Objects

WB: Pg 4

Thursday, Sept 6

MAP Testing – Reading pt. 1

WS: Direct Objects vs Subject Complements

Friday, Sept 7

**Adoration 9:15-9:45**

CR: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (questions on pg 20 and class discussion)

Simple diagrams – DO and SC

Week of August 27-31

 

Literature

English

Mon, Aug 27

Close Reading of article: Does Social Media Make Us More Lonely?

Chunk and Summarize

Vocab: Reading Comprehension Activity

WS: Noun Types (common, proper, abstract, concrete, collective)

Tues, Aug 28

Close Reading of article: Does Social Media Make Us More Lonely?

Finish summary and do “They Say … I Say” activity

Vocab: Write the Derivative

WB pg. 3 Subjects and Subject Complements

Wed, Aug 29

CR: 14-15 Visual text and begin 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Vocab: Oral Announcements and Find the Example activity

WS: Subjects and Subject Complements

Thurs, Aug 30

CR: 16-17 Continue with 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Vocab Test

Notes: Direct Objects

Fri, Aug 31

½ Day Only – 12:00 Dismissal

Enrichment Activity

½ Day Only – 12:00 Dismissal

Enrichment Activity

Week of August 20-24

 

Literature

English

Mon AUG 20

Close Reading of Complex Text (CR)

Pg. 5-6

Vocab: “Teaching Words”

-          Preteach words

-          “Write the Correct Word” activity

Tues AUG 21

CR Pg. 7-8

Vocab – Sentence Writing

Skill: Writing strong sentences

Text 1.1, 1.2 – Singular/Plural Nouns

Wed AUG 22

 

CR Pg. 9 - Annotating Text

 

Text 1.1, 1.2 (continue)

WS: 1.2 – Singular/Plural Nouns

Thurs AUG 23

Skill: Visualizing While I Read & Summarizing a Text

 

CR Pg. 10 - 11

Vocab – “Complete the Sentence” and  “Finish the Thought” activity

 

Fri AUG 24

CR Pg. 12 - Reading a "visual text"

Introduce nouns and their jobs

WS: Identifying types of nouns

Documents